In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links

Categories: Pop Rock




Perth based Pop Rock outfit CRAWLSPACE was created in 1999 as a trio comprising vocalist / guitarist Russell Smith, bassist / keyboard player Daniel Bowles with Chris Webber on drums. In this formation the band recorded the 'Afraid' EP for Rocket/Phantom Records. Scoring a national radio hit, the track 'Away' was nominated at the 1999 ARIA awards for ' Best independent release'. The band signed a publishing deal with Warner/Chappel Australia and recorded the album 'Motion', this effort hosting singles 'Lession' and 'Motion'. Australian road work to promote the album included dates with GRINSPOON, SHIHAD, MATCHBOX 20 and COLD CHISEL.

2000 witnessed re-structuring as Bowes shifted to guitar / keyboards and bassist Travis Franklin enrolled. However, shortly afterward Webber opted out and Travis' brother, Matt, duly replaced him. The ructions were far from over though as Bowes then departed, leaving Russell Smith as the only original member.

CRAWLSPACE went into hiatus until guitarist Joe Sivak joined the fold in late 2002. Re-familiarising themselves with Western Australia by touring regional cities, the group prepared itself for the next round of recordings, the EP 'Gone To My Head' issued via Embryo/MGM. Once more CRAWLSPACE reaped significant airplay, this time the songs 'Alright' and 'Gone To My Head' making an impact. CRAWLSPACE entered the recording studio in May of 2005 to craft a second album.

Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009