In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links


Originally hailing from Brisbane, Black Metal act GOSPEL OF THE HORNS initiated their career with the September 1994 demo tape 'The Satanist's Dream', this session recorded at Vibra Feel Studios. GOSPEL OF THE HORNS at this juncture comprised vocalist Shane 'Transvaal D' Davidson, guitarist / bassist Hellbutcher ("Black axe filth") and drummer Mark Howitzer ("Ballistic howitzer drums of death"). Hellbutcher also held another alter ego as "SS Death Dealer" in SPEAR OF LONGINUS. Although these first GOSPEL OF THE HORNS tapes secured a deal with the Italian Einstand label a bizarre and unfortunate series of events saw 'The Satanist's Dream' issued on CD but with a sleeve photograph depicting an entirely different band.

GOSPEL OF THE HORNS folded in 1996 as Howitzer relocated to Melbourne to join DESTROYER 666 for their 'Unchain The Wolves' album. He would reform GOSPEL OF THE HORNS during mid 1997 and the 'Sinners' cassette was delivered in 1998. The band now incorporated Howitzer on vocals and bass, Ryan Marauder of BESTIAL WARLUST and white power band DEATHS HEAD on guitar ("Guitarmageddon") and drummer Warhammer ("Drums of death").

GOSPEL OF HORNS November 1998 EP 'Monuments Of Impurity', limited to 300 copies, included a cover version of MORTAL SIN's 'Blood, Death, Hatred'. The group's internal structure had shifted once again for these sessions with Howitzer and Marauder joined by drummer Brad M. Obliterator.Meantime, ex-member Hellbutcher forged VOMITOR in 1999.

The 2000 'Eve Of The Conqueror' EP, now with Markus Hellcunt of ANATOMY and BESTIAL WARLUST on the drum stool, surfaced in vinyl format through the Dutch based Damnation Records in February of 2000. CD variants came some four months later. Promotion for this release included European touring throughout the summer, the band guesting for the likes of PENTACLE, PRIMORDIAL, ENTHRONED, HAMMERHAWK, THUS DEFILED, ADORIOR and ARKHON INFAUSTUS.

Adding second guitarist Chris Masochist, of ANATOMY and HELLSPAWN, in October of 2002 GOSPEL OF THE HORNS released their inaugural full-length album 'A Call To Arms' via Invictus Productions. Limited to 500 copies the record came in a gatefold vinyl package.

GOSPEL OF THE HORNS was disbanded in January 2007 but within a fortnight had reformed. The new version of the band saw guitarist Hexx replaced by a returning Ryan Marauder.

GOSPEL OF THE HORNS' second full-length album, 'Realm Of The Damned', was released in 2007 via Invictus Productions for Europe and by Hells Headbangers in the USA.Vinyl variants, limited to 725 hand numbered copies in a gatefold sleeve, were released through Black Ace Records. That May Kneel Before The Masters Throne Records combined tracks from the 'Sinners' and 'Monuments Of Impurity' sessions for a 12" picture disc vinyl collectable edition of 444 copies. Of these, 100 were packaged as a "die hard" edition complete with T-shirt, button badge and poster. A CD digipack was also manufactured in a restricted run of just 100 copies.

In October 2008 Mark Howitzer issued the following statement, "After 16 years of beer sweat and hell, I have decided to bring GOSPEL OF THE HORNS to an end". The band's final concert was held on 7th December 2008 in Melbourne.

Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009