In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links

Date Formed 2000

Categories: Death Metal


NORTHER came together in 1996, first gelling as REQUIEM at the hands of vocalist / guitarist Petri Lindroos and drummer Toni Hallio. Later additions in 2000 would be guitarist Kristian Ranta and the Ekroos siblings Sebastian and Joakim. Having taken onboard the revised moniker of NORTHER this quintet's first set of demos secured a deal with the Spinefarm label. However, shortly after signature the Ekroos bailed out. The remaining trio soon inducted bass player Jukka Koskinen and keyboard player Tuomas Planman to cut the debut record 'Dreams Of Endless War'. The 2002 NORTHER album, the Anssi Kippo produced 'Mirror Of Madness', would see a Japanese release through the Avalon Marquee label which included a bonus track in the form of an unexpected cover of SKID ROW's 'Youth Gone Wild'. US editions released via the Century Media label added a bonus video clip. A 2003 EP, entitled 'Spreading Death', included a cover version of MEGADETH's 'Tornado Of Souls'.

Kristian Ranta forged a project band in 2004 entitled GASHOUSE GARDEN, comprising such scene notables as CRAYDAWN guitarist Jaakko Teittinen, the SINERGY, KOTIPELTO, WARMEN credited Lauri Porra on bass and CHILDREN OF BODOM drummer Jaska Raatikainen. Heading up the band would be female singer Mertsa, located whilst singing AC/DC covers with her band CHINA CAT.

In April of 2004 Petri Lindroos temporarily joined ENSIFERUM for tour work to promote the 'Death Unlimited' album. Swedish 'Spinetour' shows in September saw a package billing, partnering the band with FINNTROLL and THE WAKE. The band entered Astia Studios in Lappeenranta during December to record a new EP.

On 5th January 2005 Toni, Pete, Kride and Jukkis gathered with Finland's Metal community at Helsinki's Rock 'n' Roll Station to pay homage to the recently murdered PANTERA / DAMAGEPLAN guitarist Darrell 'Dimebag' Abbott by by forming up a one off PANTERA tribute band DIMEN NIMEEN ("In Dime's Name!"). Musicians featured in this collective included Alexi Laiho and Roope Latvala of CHILDREN OF BODOM, Atte Sarkima from AJATARRA, Tony Jelencovich of TRANSPORT LEAGUE, Petteri Hirvanen and Nicke of MONSTERBALL, Ben, Juffi, Erkki, Niko and Silver of AMORAL, Nico, Euge and OJ from GODSPLAGUE amongst many others.

NORTHER entered Studio Fredman in Gothenburg during July to record a new studio album 'Till Death Unites Us'. However, the band parted ways with drummer Toni Hallio. A replacement would be found in VIRTUOCITY's Heikki Saari during November. The 'Scream' single entered the national Finnish charts at number 3 in January. 'Till Death Unites Us' duly charted in Finland at number 6.

NORTHER made an announcement they were set to unite with CANNIBAL CORPSE, KATAKLYSM and LEGION OF THE DAMNED for the April 2006 'No Mercy' European touring festival. However, the band was then forced off the billing before the trek started.

NORTHER's 'No Way Back' EP of February 2007 landed at the top spot on the Finnish charts upon release.

Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009