In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links


Current Members

Past Members

Studio Session Members


Helsinki melodic Death Metal combo THE SCOURGER dates to 2003, quoting an opening formation as former GANDALF singer Jari Hurskainen, guitarists Pekka Hämäläinen with Seppo Tarvainen on the drums. A demo that year, hosting a cover version of 'Cold' originally by AT THE GATES, was recorded as a trio. Expanding, the group then introduced the GANDALF and DIVINE DECAY credited Timo Nyberg on second guitar. However, Hämäläinen opted out to be superseded by Harri Hytönen, another GANDALF adept also having CUBEHEAD ties. Alec Hirst-Gee from DIVINE DECAY and SURBURBAN TRIBE aided as session bassist for songwriting sessions.

Next product would be an EP, 'To The Slayground', released in February 2005. These tracks had been recorded at Moonman Studios in Karjaa with BLAKE's Aaro Seppovaara acting as producer. For these recordings the group enlisted AIRDASH and GANDALF bassist Kirka Sainio.

Making the bass position permanent would be ONE ORPHAN MORE's Kimmo Kammonen. Quite incredibly, the band's next single, 'Hatehead' in July, went straight into the national Finnish charts at number 1.

Jani Luttinen of THE WAKE took the second guitar post from Hytonen, this new line-up debuting with a hometown support to TRIVIUM in October 2005. THE SCOURGER issued a full-length album, 'Blind Date With Violence' again produced by Aaro Seppovaara, in January 2006. That May Jani Luttinen injured his hand, necessitating WARMEN's Antti Wirman stepping in as substitute.

In June German label Cyclone Empire took the album on for European license. This version added cover versions of SLAYER, 'Ghosts Of War', and TESTAMENT's 'Over The Wall'. The EP 'Maximum Intensity' entered the Finnish charts at no. 3, rising to number 2 the following week. THE SCOURGER commenced fresh album recordings in early January 2007 at Seawolf Studios in Helsinki.

During May 2009 it was announced that the band was to separate with vocalist Jari Hurskainen continuing under the name of THE SCOURGER whilst the other members, Antti Wirman, Kimmo Kammonen, Jani Luttinen and Seppo Tarvainen, would continue together.

Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009