In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links


Current Members

Past Members


Previously known as LIONS BREED, a Gelsenkirchen, North Rhine-Westphalia based Metal act that released a 1985 album on the Earthshaker label entitled 'Damn The Night', the group underwent line-up changes and became SCANNER in 1986, adopting an on stage sci-fi image. The group's debut album, 'Hypertrace', was produced by ELOY vocalist Frank Bornemann. Backing vocals for this outing were contributed by TYRAN PACE man Ralph Scheepers. Japanese versions of this album added the exclusive track 'Galactos'.

By the time the second album, 'Terminal Earth', had been released the group had parted company with Knoblich, the singer briefly joined JESTER'S MARCH recording a demo with that band, and replaced him with the Yugoslavian born ex-ANGEL DUST frontman S.L. Coe. This was not their first choice though, SCANNER just having missed out by a matter of days to GAMMA RAY in securing the services of Ralph Scheepers. Soon personality clashes soon erupted between Coe and his band mates and the vocalist was forced out. The band would split for a period with Coe going on to found REACTOR for a series of albums. In later years S.L. Coe would prove industrious as a producer as well as touting his own Metal band C.O.E.

Guitarist Axel Julius reformed SCANNER to release the 'Mental Reservation' album in 1995 for the Massacre label. The band comprised Polish vocalist Haridon Lee, real name Leszek Szpigiel and previously having fronted CROW, bassist John A.B.C. Smith of GALLOW'S POLE and drummer D.D. Bucco for this album, although Smith was succeeded by Marc Simon after the record was released.

1997's 'Ball Of The Damned', produced by Nigel Boston and recorded at KS Studios in Bottrop in the Summer of 1996, would prove an ambitious affair as the band took on cover version of QUEEN's epic 'Innuendo'. Ralph Scheepers, by now in PRIMAL FEAR, also appeared once more lending vocals to 'Puppet On A String'. Touring to promote the album saw headline European dates with support act UNREST before a further round of shows on a package billing with FATES WARNING and OMEN.

With SCANNER once more entering a lengthy period of hiatus JOHN A.B.C. SMITH re-activated GALLOW'S POLE. As a solo artist he would also release the 1995 album 'The Revelation Of John'. Szpigiel also made a return, now billing himself as 'Naked Duke' and fronting his band DUKE for a 2001 EP 'Escape From Reality'.

SCANNER would be back in 2002 brandishing a new studio album 'Scantropolis'. At this stage the new look band comprised vocalist Lisa Croft, guitarists Axel Julius and Thilo Zaun, bass player Marc Simon, keyboard player Johannes Brunn and drummer Jan Zimmer. The album would close with an unaccredited version of 'Till The Ferryman Dies' recorded live in Stockholm.

2003 witnessed another membership change as Croft, Simon and Zimmer departed. New man on bass would be Stephan Jacobs. Keyboard player Johannes Brunn decamped in December 2004. SCANNER subsequently enrolled LEVAMNON singer Efthimios Ioannidis and female bass player Kayuri Niwa with Franz Eichberger assuming drum duties in early 2005. The band complete new album recordings in May.

In the Autumn of 2005 ex-SCANNER man John A.B.C. Smith resurfaced with GOD'S ARMY, a band unit conceived by former SPITFIRE, NIGHTFALL, HELLOWEEN, METALIUM, VALANOS, WINTER'S BANE and AT VANCE drummer Mark Cross and featuring HALLOWED guitarist Ian O'Sullivan second guitarist Don Amiro.

Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009