In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links
GERMANY, Hamburg

Date Formed 1995

Jens Kaesemann View Gallery
Categories: Dark Metal, Heavy Metal, Melodic Death Metal


Current Members

Past Members

Live Session Members


DARK AGE, hailing from Hamburg, debuted commercially for Remedy Records with 1999's 'The Fall'. The group had been formed during 1994 as the METALLICA inspired DYER'S EVE by vocalist / guitarist Eike Freese, drummer André Schumann and bass player Oliver Fliegel, adopting the title DARK AGE, taken after the VADER song, the following year. In late 1995 DARK AGE cut the demo session 'Doubtful Existence', this cassette being restricted to 100 copies.

In December 1995, keyboard player Martin Reichert enrolled and in January 1996 guitarist Finn Dierks joined the ranks. Oliver Fliegel left the band in 1996. After Finn Dierks relocated to the US he was replaced by Jörn Schubert. The November 1996 demo 'Promotion Tape Winter '96 / '97' hosted two studio tracks, recorded at Under Pressure Studios, plus four live songs captured on 26th August 1996 at the Knust venue in Hamburg.

Signing to Remedy Records 'The Fall', crafted at Absurd Studios in Hamburg, emerged in August 1999. The 2000 'Insurrection' album was produced by HOLY MOSES guitarist Andy Classen. It closed with a cover version of METALLICA's 'For Whom The Bell Tolls'. Next outing 'The Silent Republic', again with Andy Classen manning the desk, was delivered in August 2002. Digipack editions included a take on AC/DC's 'Hells Bells'. A vinyl picture disc was limited to 250 copies.

DARK AGE's April 2004 offering, simply called 'Dark Age' and recorded at EiKey Studio in Tangstedt, featured a myriad of guest appearances including Nachtgarm, of NEGATOR, on 'Neurosis 404', Florian Kloft, from ECLIPSIS, on 'Nikita', Alex Muritz, of SERPENT SOUL, and Kannixxx, of TORMENT, both on 'Pulse Of Minority', plus TIAMAT frontman Johan Edlund on two songs. 'Dark Age' closed with a cover version of OZZY OSBOURNE's 'Suicide Solution'.

The band united with PRIMAL FEAR, FREEDOM CALL and METALIUM for the European 'Wacken Road Show 2004' commencing in late April. The band featured their take on 'Heavy Metal Thunder' for the 2005 Remedy Records SAXON tribute album 'Eagleution' and 'Adrian (S.O.S.)' to a RUNNING WILD tribute collection 'The Revivalry - A Tribute To Running Wild'.

The band up a touring package with PARAGON and TORMENT for September 2005 German dates. DARK AGE parted ways with longtime bassist Thorsten Eggert in March 2006. For live work the band persevered utilising PHILIAE's Alex Frank as a temporary measure before Alex Henke took over the role. A concert DVD, 'Live, So Far...' filmed at the Markthalle in Hamburg on 3rd September 2005, arrived in stores that June.

'Minus Exitus' arrived in February 2008. This album, which featured Azetoth of SINDECATE and DARK FORTRESS as guest vocalist, closed out with an uncredited cover version of U2's 'October'. A CD / DVD limited edition package included a documentary on making the album, a 90 minute documentary 'Beyond Touring' plus footage from the 'Rage Against Racism' festival in Duisburg July 2007. Japanese versions hosted a rendition of T-REX's 'Children Of The Revolution'.

Closing a lengthy relationship with Remedy Records, DARK AGE contracted to the AFM label in May 2009 for their sixth album.

Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009