In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links
GERMANY, Saalfeld

Date Formed 1997

Categories: Crossover, Death Metal, Metalcore, Thrash Metal


Current Members

Past Members

Live Session Members


A socially conscious Hardcore Thrash / Death Metal band. The band's lyrical themes have developed to deal with such subjects as veganism, racism and social rights issues. HEAVEN SHALL BURN was originally conceived billed as CONSENSE during the Autumn of 1996 with a debut demo recording following in early 1997. The band's roster would shift allowing the introduction of lead vocalist Markus and bass player Eric upfront of a second promotion recording. Live work ensued after which the Deeds Of Revolution label offered a contract to release HEAVEN SHALL BURN's mini-album 'In Battle There Is No Law, issued in 1998. Shortly after second guitarist Patrick Schleitzer joined the fold.

A split release shared with FALL OF SERENITY followed in 1999 after which HEAVEN SHALL BURN signed up to the Impression label. This union brought forth the April 2000 'Asunder' album. That same year a further split offering found HEAVEN SHALL BURN paired with CALIBAN for a Lifeforce Records release. After extensive touring throughout Spain, Portugal, Swiss, Italy, the Benelux and the Czech Republic the group settled down to craft the 'Whatever It May Take' record. Of interest to collectors was that 'Whatever It May Take' was issued in Brazil with completely different artwork, a revised song running order and a bonus track. Live work in 2002 saw an appearance at the massive 'With Full Force' festival in Germany as well as gigs as far afield as Iceland.

The band signed to Germany's Century Media Records in early 2004 for the April album 'Antigone'. This outing would also see release in vinyl format via Lifeforece Records and licensed in South America through Brazil's Liberation Records. A promotional video for the track 'The Weapon They Fear' was shot at an April gig in Chemnitz by director Marc Drywa. Gigs included a 30th May appearance at the Brazilian 'Liberation Fest V' in Sao Paulo.

To aid victims of the December 2004 Indian Ocean tsunamis HEAVEN SHALL BURN, in collaboration with THE HAUNTED and NAPALM DEATH, participated in the issue of a special single release. The band donated the DIE SKEPTIKER cover version 'Strassenkampf' featuring guitarist Patrick Schleitzer on vocals. These singles, restricted to just 1000 hand numbered copies, would be for sale only at NAPALM DEATH's Bochum and London shows in January 2005. The band hooked up with a further multi-package billing, dubbed 'Hell On Earth', for Autumn European touring alongside running mates AS I LAY DYING, EVERGREEN TERRACE, AGENTS OF MAN, END OF DAYS and NEAERA. Long-time guitarist Patrick Schleitzer then opted out, putting on a final farewell gig with the band on 18th November in Saalfeld , before being swiftly replaced by Alexander Dietz.

In June 2006 the band revealed a new album title, 'Deaf To Our Prayers', was inspired by the poem 'The Silesian Weavers' by German poet Heinrich Heine. 'Deaf To Our Prayers', recorded at Rape Of Harmonies Studios in Thüringen, entered the national German charts at number 65. The band formed up the UK and European "Hell On Earth" tour in September and October. Joining them would be GOD FORBID, MAROON, CATARACT, FULL BLOWN CHAOS, PURIFIED IN BLOOD from Norway and A PERFECT MURDER. Upon completion of these shows guitarist Alexander Dietz temporarily joined the ranks of NEAERA for live work.

A re-mixed version of 'Whatever It May Take' saw issue in 2007. Clad in new artwork, this new variant added the extra acoustic track 'Io'.

The 'Iconoclast (Part 1: The Final Resistance)' album, produced by Patrick W.Engel and Ralf Müller at Rape Of Harmonies Studios once again then mixed and mastered at The Antfarm, Denmark with Tue Madsen, arrived in late January 2008. This included the EDGE OF SANITY cover version 'Black Tears'. Limited edition double packs hosted a DVD of the band's 2007 'Wacken Open Air' concert. Japanese versions added two extra tracks, 'No One Will Shed A Tear' and a version of MERAUDER's 'Downfall Of Christ'.

In 2008 the band submitted versions of TIAMAT's 'Whatever That Hurts' and MERAUDER's 'Downfall Of Christ' for inclusion on the Century Media artist compilation 'Covering 20 Years Of Extremes'. This double CD set comprised Century Media acts paying home to their stable mates. The group in turn was honoured by FEAR MY THOUGHTS, who tackled 'The Weapon They Fear'.

TRIVIUM embarked on a headlining tour of Australia in May 2009 being joined by HEAVEN SHALL BURN and BLACK TIDE.

Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009