In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links

Date Formed 1994
Date Disbanded 2001

Categories: Avant-garde, Black Metal


Last Known Lineup

Past Members

Live Session Members

Studio Session Members


Avant-Garde, Industrial Black Metal band founded in Oslo during 1994 as DØDHEIMSGARD ("The mansion of death"). The group was created as a trio of vocalist Aldrahn (a.k.a. Björn Dencker Gjerde), guitarist Vicotnik (Yusaf Parvez) and DARKTHRONE's drummer Fenriz (Gylve Nagell) on bass. After the debut album Fenriz departed making way for AURA NOIR's Apollyon (Ole Jörgen Moe) and Jonas Alver. Czral (Carl-Michael Eide), of SATYRICON and ULVER, joined forces with the band later on drums. A five track demo cassette, simply billed 'Dødheimsgard', emerged that same year. Malicious Records subsequently put out debut album 'Kronet Til Konge'.

In early 1995 Fenriz, Czral and Vicotnik assembled side venture VED BUENS ENDE ('At The End Of The Bow") together with ULVER and ARCTURUS bassist Skoll. The same year found Aldrahn involved with the ZYKLON B project for the 'Blood Must Be Shed' album working alongside Frost of SATYRICON and EMPEROR men Ihsahn and Samoth. DØDHEIMSGARD returned in 1996 with their second outing 'Monumental Possession'. At this juncture the group employed guitarist Galder (Thomas Rune Andersen) of DIMMU BORGIR and OLD MAN'S CHILD repute and bassist Cerberus. In 1997 Alver joined EMPEROR for their 'Anthems To The Welkin At Dusk' album.

For the May 1998 DØDHEIMSGARD mini-album 'Satanic Art', released through Moonfog, the band had been joined by Hologram (Svein Egil Hatlevik) of FLEURETY. Studio violin parts would be contributed by Stine Lunde. Their final effort, '666 International', would witness a line-up of Aldrahn on vocals, Apollyon on bass, Czral on drums alongside Hologram, now dubbed 'Mr. Magic Logic' and Vicotnik, as 'Mr. Fixit'. This album boasted 66 songs, although tracks 10 through to 65 would involve only silence.

DØDHEIMSGARD men Apollyon and Czral resurrected classic Norwegian Death Metallers CADAVER with Anders Oden in 2000. Czral also helped out with drums on demos for British band VOID.

The band would switch titles to DHG for later releases. Jens Ryland of BORKNAGER would join DHG in the Autumn of 2001. Thrawn (Tom Kvålsvoll) of NOCTURNAL BREED and PARADIGMA, would replace Ryland on guitars during March of 2002. Other new faces would be Kristian Eidskrem on bass of PARADIGMA and HAGALAZ' RUNEDANCE. As ZWEIZZ, Hatlevik released the limited edition 7" single 'Black Necrotic Obfuscation' in 2004.

The 2005 band membership would be quoted as singer Kvohst (Mat McNerney) of CODE and VOID, Mr. Fixit and Thrawn on guitars, Zweiss on programming, Mort on effects with Clandestine on bass. Czral got himself into the news in somewhat bizarre circumstances when he plummeted from a five-story building in Oslo on 26th March 2005. Severely injured, the musician underwent two major operations immediately after the event.

In November 2005 the Kongeriket Norge Front imprint re-issued archive demo tracks as the 'Mork Skog' EP.

DHG appeared set to return with a new album, 'Supervillain Outcast', in 2006.

Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009