In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links

Date Formed May/1992

Categories: Gothic Metal


Current Members

Past Members

Studio Session Members


LAKE OF TEARS has created their own niche in the European Gothic Rock scene with their blend of psychedelic Dark Metal. The Borås based group was assembled in May of 1992 with a fusion of talents from various Death Metal bands, vocalist / guitarist Daniel Brennare, guitarist Jonas Eriksson and bass player Michael Larsson coming from CARNAL ERUPTION whilst drummer Johan Oudhuis had previously been with FORSAKEN GRIEF. A demo cut in May 1993 at GMP Studios in BorÃ¥s with engineers Tony Splatt and Kenneth Fahlman soon secured a five album contract with the Black Mark label.

The 1994 debut album 'Greater Art' was recorded at the world famous Sunlight Studios and produced by CEMETARY's Matthias Lodmalm and ENTOMBED's Tomas Skogsberg, the latter also adding guitar and keyboard touches. In March of 1995 LAKE OF TEARS entered the recording studio again, this time utilising the Wavestation complex, for a second effort, 'Headstones', engineered by Ulf Pettersson. Accompanying female vocals came courtesy of Annica Karlsson.

The band toured hard throughout 1996, opening for such acts as TIAMAT, EDGE OF SANITY and RAGE, but guitarist Jonas Eriksson had departed by the 1997 album and his duties were handled by guesting musicians in the form of CELEBORN, DISMEMBER and TIAMAT guitarist Magnus Sahlgren and keyboard player/ guitarist Ronny Lahti. The track lifted for the single 'Lady Rosenred' featured a lead guest vocal by Jenny Tebler. Following completion of the record LAKE OF TEARS inducted guitarist Ulrik Lindblom.

Touring to promote 'A Crimson Cosmos' was extensive. The first round of European dates had the band packaged with THEATRE OF TRAGEDY and HEAVENWOOD before summer dates which included an appearance at the German 'Wacken Open Air' festival. The group then formed part of the billing for the 'Out Of The Dark' touring festivals sharing the stage with CREMATORY, THERION, DARK and GRAVEWORM. However, Lindblom bowed out after these shows to take care of his family life.

'Forever Autumn', acknowledged by the band to be a more morose affair than previous efforts, was delivered for a German release in June of 1999. The group added keyboard player Christian Saarinen to fill out their newly acquired atmospheric direction. Magnus Sahlgren also weighed in with a guest guitar solo once again.

LAKE OF TEARS returned in April of 2002 with the Ulf Wahnberg produced 'Neonai' album. Jenny Tebler was used once again for female vocal parts. The group would go into hiatus until September of 2003 when the core personnel of guitarist/vocalist Daniel Brennare, bassist Mikael Larsson and drummer Johan Oudhuis reformed. On guitar would be Magnus Sahlgren, a veteran of CELEBORN, DISMEMBER and TIAMAT. The band readied a new album, 'Black Brick Road', for August 2004 release. That same year Jenny Tebler had been working on a musical collaboration with BATHORY mentor Quorthon dubbed SILVERWING. This project was curtailed by the death of Quorthon in June 2004.

LAKE OF TEARS signed to newly established German label Dockyard 1 in September 2005. That same month the band performed on the '34,000 Tons of Metal' Baltic cruise. Live dates included a string of Russian gigs in September then Greek concerts in October. The album 'Moons And Mushrooms', originally announced for August 2006 issue, underwent final mixing stages in February 2007. A limited-edition digipack contained a Punk cover version of STATUS QUO's 'Is There A Better Way'.

LAKE OF TEARS achieved a first in 2009 when the group played a show in Lebanon, at the Tantra Kaslik in Beirut on 9th January with opening bands ARMORY, POSTMORTEM and ELEMENT 26. Membership changes in 2009 saw Fredrik Jordanius, of EGONAUT, RISING FAITH and FIERCE CONVICTION, replacing Magnus Sahlgren.

Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009