In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links


Formed by former CONSPIRACY bass player Lars Rosenberg as a studio quintet in Stockholm during 1988, CARBONIZED released the 'Auto-Da-Fe' demo in September the following year. The band's first line-up had comprised of Rosenberg, vocalist Matti Karki, guitarist Jonas Derouche and ex-CONSPIRACY drummer Per Ax. Guitarist Henrik "Hempa" Brynolfsson, another CONSPIRACY veteran, also joined the band but would swiftly exit, taking Ax with as the duo forged EXCRUCIATE. The band regrouped, drawing in guitarist Zoran Jovanovic and drummer Markus Rüden. Further changes in 1989 introduced guitarist Stefan Ekström. However, Ekström and Röden left to join MORPHEUS. Nicklas Larsson then manned the drums.

Following the release of the 'No Canonisation' 7" single on the Thrash label during 1990 vocalist Matti Karki opted to join DISMEMBER, although the group did add ex-ROBOTS drummer Piotr Wawrzeniuk. The new line-up recorded the demo 'Recarbonised' in 1990, but soon after Rosenberg left to join ENTOMBED, effectively putting CARBONIZED on ice for live work. Nevertheless, CARBONIZED added THERION member guitarist Christofer Johnsson in favour of Jonas Derouche to record the 'For The Security' debut album.

CARBONIZED were to suffer further membership problems in April 1992 when Wawrzeniuk joined THERION. Nevertheless, the band cut a new album 'Disharmonization' with producer Thomas Skogsberg at the famous Sunlight Studios in a rapid three days during that Autumn. 'Disharmonization' emerged in December 1992.

The 'Screaming Machines' album was issued by the Foundation 2000 label in April 1996. Both of these latter outings witnessed a drastic alteration in the band's playing style, being described by one reviewer as "Freaked out psychedelic Jazz Metal".

Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009