In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links


Current Members

Past Members


A Netherton, West Midlands Christian Thrash band, SEVENTH ANGEL's opening demo was recorded in one rehearsal session for the princely sum of 26 pounds. A three track, self-titled effort was followed by 'Heed The Warning', recorded by Paul Hodson of HARD RAIN repute in White Rabbit Studios, Bridgenorth during March 1990.

The group would release two highly regarded albums, 'The Torment' in 1990, recorded once again by Paul Hodson at Mad Hat Studios in Wolverhampton, and 'Lament For The Weary' in 1992, recorded at ICC Studios in Eastbourne with producer Roy Rowland, through Music For Nations' Thrash label Under One Flag. Both albums came clad in distinctive Rodney Matthews fantasy artwork.

Live work included tours of Germany and Holland during 1991 and 1992, line-up changes seeing bassist Simon Bibby superseded by Nic White and ex-DETRITUS frontman Mark Broomhead. SEVENTH ANGEL's final performance would be held in Utrecht, Holland on 12th December 1992. Frontman Ian Arkley created ASHEN MORTALITY in 1993 to release further album product.

Bassist Simon Bibby and Mark Broomhead founded LOVE LIES BLEEDING. With the addition of drummer Adam Gallagher and keyboard player Scott James this band duly evolved into FIRE FLY issuing a 1999 EP 'Swings & Roundabouts'. A 2005 release, 'Heed The Warning' through Bombworks Records, compiled early demo tracks and live recordings from the 'Greenbelt' festival in August 1992 and the November 1992 'Crushing Hell' fest in Holland.

In early 2005 it was learned Ian Arkley had initiated a side project entitled CENTURY SLEEPER in union with James Allin of VISIONAIRE. That same year Arkley assembled a further endeavour, MY SILENT WAKE being forged that May alongside former ASHEN MORTALITY guitarist / bassist Andi Lee, guitarist Alan Southorn of THE OTHER WINDOW and BLOODWORK's Jasen Whyte on drums. The new band recorded a two track demo, comprising songs originally projected for ASHEN MORTALITY, at Kewsound Studios in Kewstoke during June.

A newly re-activated SEVENTH ANGEL signed to Bombworks Records in early 2009. The group entered Priory studios in Birmingham with producer Greg Chandler in late March to record 'The Dust Of Years' album. The group at this juncture comprised Ian Arkley, guitarist Simon Bibby, bassist Mark Broomhead and drummer 'Tank' (a.k.a. Andrew Thompson) from FREEKSPERT and SUKMUNKI.

Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009