In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links


A New York based speed orientated Nu-Metal outfit centred upon the sibling axis of vocalist / guitarist Edsel Dope and keyboard player Simon Dope. DOPE arrived in 1997, putting in their first gig at New York's Elbow Room in 1998 with a line up rounded out by former TEEZE and ROUGHHOUSE guitarist Tripp Eisen (a.k.a. Tod Rex Salvador), bassist Acey Slade and drummer Preston Nash. Originally Eisen had occupied the bass slot but switched to guitar when original bassist Sloane Jentry made his exit in February 1999. Their progress was swift, being signed to Flip Records in October of 1998 and then subsequently to major label Epic Records.

The John Travis produced debut album 'Felons And Revolutionaries' surfaced in September 1999. Included would be an unaccredited 'secret' track, a version of N.W.A.'s 'Fuck Tha Police'. The band would gain MTV support and radio exposure courtesy of their cover of 80s Dance act DEAD OR ALIVE's 'You Spin Me Right Round Like A Record' as part of the soundtrack to the cult movie 'American Psycho' soundtrack. However, strangely this track was not included on the album. 'Felons And Revolutionaries' eventually reaped US sales past the quarter million mark.

After a heavy touring schedule which saw DOPE supporting the likes of ALICE COOPER, FEAR FACTORY, SLIPKNOT and KID ROCK the band fractured down to the Dope brothers. Guitarist Tripp Eisen swiftly announced his signature with STATIC X and also allied himself with SLIPKNOT's Joey Jordison and ex-COAL CHAMBER bassist Nadja Peulen in the Des Moines Punk Rock n' Roll side act THE REJECTS for a 2001 album. Preston Nash also found high profile employment hooking up with PRIMER 55.

Original bassist Sloane Jentry- albeit under the new title of 'Mosey', made a return to the fold in December of 2000. Fresh blood was brought in to rebuild the band in the form of guitarists Virus and Acey Slade, drummer Sketchy Shay. Previous to DOPE Shay had been known as Racci Shay Hart with GENITORTURERS whilst Acey Slade was a member of VAMPIRE LOVE DOLLS. This unit would make it's entrance with the October 2001 Josh Abraham produced 'Life' album.

DOPE would also have new material featured on the March 2002 'WWF Forceable Entry' compilation issued by Columbia Records donating 'No Chance' (Vince McMahon's Theme). In August Acey Slade joined the ranks of SLIPKNOT drummer Joey Jordison's project band MURDERDOLLS for live dates following regular guitarist Tripp Eisen, also a member of STATIC X, had to withdraw at short notice. DOPE would head up an extensive series of North American dates throughout November and December of 2002 headlining over PRIMER 55, SKINLAB and SOCIETY 1. A brief spate of gigs in March of 2003 had DOPE teamed up with SLITHERYN for the 'Fuck School Spring Break' tour. A more substantial run of dates, billed as '40 Days Faded', throughout April and May found DOPE allied with TAPPING THE VEIN and ZUG IZLAND. Gigs in July had the band partnered with DOG FASHION DISCO and WOLFPAC.

A round of US January 2004 dates in union with MUSHROOMHEAD would herald the departure of bassist Mosey a mere week before kick off. Adrian Ost of POWERMAN 5000 duly filled in. Ex-guitarist Acey Slade launched a web site for his new project TRASH LIGHT VISION in April. He would also set out on the road as fill in guitarist for AMEN.

DOPE hooked up with road partners MUSHROOMHEAD, SOIL and INDEX CASE for US shows in late April through May. However, the group missed four shows in a row and speculation as to their continued involvement was highlighted when fans apparently organised a collection in order to buy the band a touring bus. The group returned to the tour for the 5th May Fort Wayne, Indiana gig, citing recent difficulties over "transportation problems". New man on bass guitar would be former SKRAPE member Brian 'Brix' Milner. DOPE united with TWISTED METHOD and MOTOGRATER for a run of October 'American Apathy' US shows. DOPE readied a new album, entitled 'American Apathy', for Summer 2005 issue on Atlantic. Limited edition variants of the album came complete with a bonus disc of rare material. The band allied with MUSHROOMHEAD and NOCTURNE for a Jagermeister sponsored US tour, dubbed 'Music For FREEdom', in July and August. DOPE also scheduled a Japanese gig for 1st November, appearing alongside STARWOOD at the Tokyo 'Manic Panic' hairspray sponsored festival. Manning the drums would be MURDERDOLLS man Ben Graves.

In November, retaining his ties to DOPE, frontman Edsel Dope joined up with the Florida based MAKESHIFT ROMEO as the group's new drummer. Shows throughout June and July 2006 in the USA would be backed by MANNTIS, BLEED THE SKY and A NEW REVOLUTION.

In February 2007 DOPE announced recruitment of former GENITORTURERS drummer Angel Bartolotta. Subsequentlythe bass position was delegated to Tripp Tribbet, formerly frontman of TWISTED METHOD.

DOPE's fifth album, 'No Regrets' issued in March 2009, sold 6,200 copies in the United States in its first week of release to debut at no. 88 on The Billboard 200 chart. The album featured a guest appearance by Zakk Wylde, of the OZZY OSBOURNE band and BLACK LABEL SOCIETY, who lent his skills to the song 'Addiction'.

The group was announced as participating in the 'Pedal To The Metal Tour' 2009 US tour alongside MUDVAYNE, BLACK LABEL SOCIETY and STATIC-X. However, the band withdrew. Edsel Dope issued a candid statement explaining ""Unfortunately, it was a simple matter of economics. There are so many well-known bands on the tour that there just wasn't enough money to go around. I'm not talking about money to get rich or buy rock star bullshit that we don't need, I'm just talking about enough money to cover the normal, basic, costs to do the tour and to cover our basic bills back home while we are away."

Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009