In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links


Last Known Lineup

Past Members


New York's theatrical Horror Rockers WHITE ZOMBIE, titled after the 1932 Bela Lugosi horror movie and fronted by the imposing figure of Rob Dirt Straker (a.k.a. Robert Cummings) progressed through a clutch of independent releases before assaulting the American consciousness with their 1992 album 'La Sexorcisto'.

A mere month after their formation the in October 1985 group committed themselves to vinyl with the four track 7" EP 'Gods On Voodoo Moon'. Limited to just 300 copies this now exceptionally scarce item witnessed a band line up credited to vocalist Rob Straker, guitarist Ena Kostabi, bass player Sean Ysuelt and drummer Peter Landau. Their next effort, the 1986 single 'Pig Heaven' revealed a band already in flux with Straker and Ysuelt now joined by guitarist Tim Jeffs and drummer Ivan DePrume. 'Pig Heaven' was initially issued in a black and white artwork cover and restricted to 500 copies. A second pressing of a further 500 came clad in a full colour sleeve.

WHITE ZOMBIE self financed their first batch of mini-albums beginning with May 1987's 'Psycho Head Blowout'. The band's line-up at this time included guitarist Tom Guay who was to have made way for John Ricci. Bill Laswell produced the 'Make Them Die Slowly' album, recorded in November 1988 at at Platinum Island Studios in New York. Shortly after the record's release Jay Yeunger took the guitarist's position.

The group faced the threat of legal action over the use of KISS bassist GENE SIMMONS' copyrighted make-up design depicted on the cover of the 'God Of Thunder' EP during the first few months of 1990. The following year Straker adopted the revised pseudonym of ROB ZOMBIE.

Drummer Ivan DePrume was ousted in favour of a new man Philo. However, Philo's tenure was short and in early 1995 former EXODUS and TESTAMENT man John Tempesta was behind the kit. As concerns grew as to the permanent status of the band an album of dance remixs 'Supersexy Swingin' Sounds' was issued in 1996 giving the band a further American hit.

A Japanese tour found DAMN THE MACHINE and MUMBO'S BRAIN man Mark Poland on the drums. Another new recruit was former SUFFER, PRONG and DANZIG bassist Rob Nicholson, although for WHITE ZOMBIE he was retitled Blasko. Yseult meantime created FAMOUS MONSTERS for the album 'In The Night!!'.

ROB ZOMBIE released his first solo album, 'Hellibilly Deluxe' through Geffen in August 1998. The record was cut with the help of Tempesta, NINE INCH NAILS men Charlie Clouser and Danny Lohner plus MÖTLEY CRÜE drummer Tommy Lee. DePrume re-emerged in late 2001 touting a Los Angeles based project SOCIETY ONE in union with ex-PRONG and present day KILLING JOKE bassist Paul Raven.

ROB ZOMBIE, touring as special guest on the 2002 'Ozzfest' North American dates, had a live version of WHITE ZOMBIE's 'More Human Than Human' included on the subsequent 'Ozzfest 2002' compilation album.

Yseult resurfaced in November of 2002 fronting up the New Orleans, Louisiana based ROCK CITY MORGUE, also comprising ex-MAN SCOUTS OF AMERICA vocalist Rik Slave with erstwhile SYRUP drummer Michael Brueggen. This new band debuted with the Daniel Rey produced EP 'Some Ghouls'. That same month former WHITE ZOMBIE drummer Ivan Dr Prume united with erstwhile BUILT XL vocalist Jason 'Gong' Jones, ex-AMEN guitarist Sonny Mayo and bassist Stevo Bruno in a new band billed as FIVE-O-CLOCK. Yet more collaborations found Blasko and Johnny Tempesta in alliance with HELMET mentor Page Hamiliton during December.

De Prume had hopped onto yet another new band venture by early 2004, HEALER featuring ex-STRIFE guitarist Andrew Kline, CIRQUE DU SOLEIL violinist Martin St. Pierre and ex-NEW PAST LIFE bassist John McLaughlin.

Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009