In Association with
Musicians | Biography | Discography | Links


Current Members

    Past Members


    Very much in the Gore-Metal mould. Chicago's BROKEN HOPE have nevertheless put a healthy work ethic to their advantage touring America constantly to back up a string of blood curdling releases. The band formulated in 1989 when vocalist Jeremy Wagner and bassist Joe Ptacek joined CRYPT, an act featuring drummer Ryan Stanek. CRYPT folded and the trio duly founded BROKEN HOPE. The band's first demo secured a deal with Grindcore Records for their debut 'Swamped In Gore'.

    BROKEN HOPE stepped up a gear by signing to Metal Blade Records for their sophomore effort 'Bowels Of Repugnance', this album seeing erstwhile SINDROME bassist Shaun Glass joining the fold. The band toured persistently and hard alongside acts such as DEICIDE and SIX FEET UNDER. A further album 'Loathing' cemented BROKEN HOPE's grip on the scene.

    1995's 'Repulsive Conception' featured BROKEN HOPE's version of the TWISTED SISTER track 'Captain Howdy'. The album also saw AGENT STEEL / CANCER / DEATH guitarist JAMES MURPHY as guest on the track 'Engorged With Impiety'.

    The band parted ways with Metal Blade masking any doubts over their career by touring America with support from Poland's VADER and MONSTROSITY before dates in Chile with German's SODOM.

    Stanek, DeMumbrum and Griffin forged the side act EM SINFONIA in the ensuing downtime during which Glass departed. The bass player would dispense with Death Metal, switching tack completely and opting to found Nu-Metal band SOIL in alliance with a triumvirate of former OPPRESSOR personnel guitarist Adam Zadel, bassist Tim King and drummer Tom Schoefield. With SOIL seemingly on the ascendency during 2002 BROKEN HOPE's Brian Griffin would be found to be on the road with the band as well, acting as live sound engineer.

    In April of 2002 it would be announced that BROKEN HOPE was no more. Guitarist Jeremy Wagner and vocalist Scott Creekmore revealed they would be using material projected for the next album 'Flesh Mechanic' for a fresh band project. This new unit transpired to be EARTHBURNER, the two ex-BROKEN HOPE men pulling in the talents of FLESHGRIND guitarist Steve Murray, PUTRID PILE bass player Shaun LaCanne and drummer Jeff Bumgardner. Wagner would also devote time to his other band concern LURCH. Wagner also revealed plans for a further project with Electronic / Hardcore remix DJ DELTA 9 entitled BECOMING.

    In July guitarist Brian Griffin and bassist Sean Baxter unveiled a new project called INCIVISM, setting to work on an album with a projected title of 'Voluntary Exile'. Former BROKEN HOPE guitarist Jeremy Wagner launched a new project entitled LUPARA in November. In July of 2005 Sean Baxter would be announced as frontman for THY DIVINE EMPIRE, the act assembled by ex-DIVINE EMPIRE members J.P. Soars and Duane Timlin.

    Copyright Musicdetector Websites 2009